1996 – Bramwell

Andrew as Martin Fredericks

Created by: Lucy Gannon, Harriet Davison, Tim Whitby
Original Network: ITV
Number of Episodes: 1 (that Andrew has starred in)
Production year: 1995
Original release: May 22, 1995 – June 18, 1998
Running time: 54 minutes
Other cast: Jemma Redgrave, Ruth Sheen, David Calder
Misc: IMDB | Amazon | iTunes

In 1895, women were not expected to work – or even know about – medicine. Women were expected to work as house-wives, mothers, teachers and nurses. One woman was determined to change that. Eleanor Bramwell works under Sir Herbert Hamilton’s supervision. She isn’t happy. After he stupidly loses a perfectly healthy young mother, Eleanor decides it is time to make her mark in medical history. Mocked by fellow medical students and questioned by her father, Doctor Robert Bramwell, Eleanor is soon given a renovated building – by donation of the kind Lady Cora Peters – and begins her own infirmary – The Thrift. But with all odds against her, will she survive? Will she make her dream come true? Will her colleagues trust her?